and right now, I am in a “give it all away”, “get rid of it”, “sell it on ebay”, “through it away while steve’s not looking” phase.

I bought an e-book on my kindle app called Miss Minimalist: Inspiration to downsize, declutter, and simplify.  Clearly, I was entering into this phase when I bought the book, because otherwise I would never have bought the book :).  But WOW is it kicking my selfish little butt (I write “LITTLE butt” less as a true comment about the size of my butt and more as an encouraging statement to get me out walking after the baby’s nap today!)

Here are a few tidbits I have taken from my new read that may resonate with or challenge you:

*I went through my closet.  If I hadn’t worn something in 1 year, I got rid of it (with the exception of my wedding dress.  this is something you probably want to keep and hopefully will not wear once a year).

*Did you know that we actually don’t NEED all the towels in our linen closet?  I was challenged to think about what towels we actually need.  Here is what I came up with.  We need 4-6 large towels, 2 washcloths, 2 hand towels, and 4 beach towels.  We don’t use wash cloths and only need them when our friend Blaire comes to visit :).  We actually don’t need the towels I have left over from college.  The towels that teenagers have left here.  The random towels that I have no idea where they came from.

What should you do with your extra towels?  Here’s what I did (and I came up with this idea all on my own :))…I used them instead of “packing peanuts” in the boxes of stuff I just sold on ebay.  Yep, it got them off my hands and it is a special treat to the lady who bought my stuff 🙂

Also, you could make superhero capes for your kids, cut them up and make cleaning rags, or donate them to Goodwill.

So there are two tips for you 🙂  I will be posting more ways to simplify your life soon!

